Apply For 2024 ARES Scholarships For Developing Countries, Belgium

The ARES Scholarships provide an opportunity for individuals from ARES partner countries to pursue an advanced bachelor’s or master’s degree program or a 2-to-6-month continuing education course at higher education institutions in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Belgium. If you’re a national of an ARES partner country, have a higher education degree, and wish to deepen your skills in a development-related field, this scholarship is tailored for you.

Key Information:

  • Type: Undergraduate, Masters
  • Application Deadline: November 17, 2023
  • Number of Awards: 130 Bachelor’s and Masters scholarships and 70 continuing education scholarships are available.

Value and Duration:

The ARES Scholarships cover various aspects of your educational journey, including:

  • International travel expenses.
  • A living allowance.
  • Registration fees.
  • Visa costs.
  • Insurance, and more.

The duration of the scholarship program will depend on the specific course you are pursuing.

Eligible Field of Study:

These scholarships are applicable to a wide range of fields, including aquaculture, health, food technology, economics, international development, GIS, information technology, agriculture, environment, human rights, microfinance, and more. To view the complete list of eligible courses, please refer to the official website.

Eligible Countries:

This scholarship is available for applicants from the following countries: Benin, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Haiti, Indonesia, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Guinea (Conakry), Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe.


To be eligible for the ARES Scholarship, you should:

  • Be a national of and currently reside and work in one of the countries listed above.
  • Hold a diploma that is equivalent to a graduate-level degree (300 ECTS credits) for advanced masters and continuing education courses (equivalent to Bac+5). For advanced bachelors (equivalent to Bac+3), a diploma equivalent to an undergraduate level degree (180 ECTS credits) is required. The candidate must have obtained the relevant academic degree within a maximum of 20 years at the start of the course. This period is extended by one year due to childbirth and/or adoption.
  • Possess relevant professional experience in an ARES partner country, with a minimum of two years of experience after graduate studies for advanced bachelors and after postgraduate studies for advanced masters and continuing education courses.
  • Complete the application in the language of the training course and demonstrate good written and spoken proficiency in it. Moreover, having a basic knowledge of French is important for a smooth integration into daily life in Belgium.
  • Apply for only one training course.
  • Ensure that you have not obtained prior admission to a French-speaking institution in Belgium to be eligible for the ARES scholarship.

How to Apply:

To apply for the scholarship, create a GIRAF account online and complete the scholarship application form. All applications must be submitted by November 17, 2023, at 12 pm (Belgian time, UTC+1).


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top