Apply For 2024 Australia Awards Fellowship For International Students

The Australia Awards Fellowship aims to build networks of influence and leadership by strengthening partnerships between Australian organizations and partner organizations in various regions. This fellowship program targets senior and mid-career officials and professionals who can advance development outcomes in priority areas and enhance the institutional capacity of partner countries through their leadership. Fellowships under this program can vary in length, ranging from 2 weeks to 52 weeks, providing flexibility to meet diverse needs.

  • Type: Fellowships
  • Application Deadline: November 7, 2023
  • Number of Awards: 15

Value & Duration of Award:

Each fellow selected for the Australia Awards Fellowship will receive up to AUD $34,500. This financial support includes:

  • Return air travel and relevant in-Australia travel.
  • Training costs.
  • Accommodation and living expenses.
  • Medical insurance costs when in Australia (for the Fellowship holder only).
  • Special assistance for people with disabilities.
  • Program overhead fee.

Eligible Countries:

The Australia Awards Fellowship is open to candidates from the following regions and countries:

Southeast Asia: Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Vietnam.

South Asia and Middle East: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iraq, Jordan, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestinian Territories, and Sri Lanka.

Pacific: Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Wallis and Futuna.

Africa: Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Europe: Ukraine.

Please note that proposals for Brunei Darussalam, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, and Singapore will not be considered in Round 19.

Priority Areas:

Fellowship programs must align with the following six development priority areas:

  • Climate change, adaptation, resilience, and green energy transition.
  • Gender equality, disability equity, and social inclusion.
  • Health.
  • Digital Economy (including cyber, critical technology, and media engagement).
  • Maritime and the Blue Economy.
  • Infrastructure and connectivity.


To be eligible for the Australia Awards Fellowship, applicants must meet the following general eligibility requirements:

  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Fellowship.
  • Not be a permanent resident or be applying for permanent residency in Australia, or be a partner of someone who is.
  • Be a citizen of an eligible country.
  • Not be a current serving military personnel.
  • Be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Home Affairs for (DFAT sponsored) student visas subclass 500.
  • Be able to participate in the Fellowship.
  • Be able to travel without family members, as DFAT will only fund and provide visa support letters for individual Fellows, not their family members. Fellows with a disability that requires assistance must travel with a carer.

How To Apply:

Applications for the Australia Awards Fellowship ROUND 19 are now open and must be submitted online via Smartygrants. The deadline for submission is 11.59pm (AEDT), 7 November 2023. Late or incomplete applications will not be accepted for assessment.

This fellowship program provides a unique opportunity for professionals to enhance their leadership skills and contribute to the development of their countries and regions. It promotes collaboration and knowledge exchange between Australia and participating nations.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top